Diwali Diya Barfi – Sugarless Date Diyas

After the last foray into the diwali diya‘s, I wanted to try something a little bit simple yet rustically authentic – those beautiful simple brown lamps which adorn the balconies during diwali.

When the target color was brown, it was natural to think of dates. There is something absolving about cooking with dates – like it forgives me for all the sugar I may be having during my day. (health freaks – DO NOT prick my happy bubble). Case in point – my go-to favorite cake.

Anyways, surfing for my diwali barfi effort II, I stumbled upon this delightful looking recipe. After my recent almond-pista-fun, I wanted to try a different dry fruit. Walnut seemed like a perfect choice to balance the sweet dates. So here goes: my date-walnut diyas:

Ingredients:

  • 250 gms Dates/ Khajoor – If seedless, can be 200 gms
  • 1/2 cup Almonds flour
  • 1/4 cup coursely ground walnuts
  • 2 tbsp Poppy seeds / khus khus
  • 1 tbsp Ghee (clarified butter)
  • For the wicks – I used a small part of my plain almond burfi mix from this recipe.

Method:

I followed this recipe pretty much closely except the slightly different dry fruit mixes. I did require around a few drops of milk to get the consistency correct. But I got it into a good pliable form.

img_20170226_223430Once done, instead of rolling the date mixture into a roll, I molded them into approximate diya shapes. To get the shapes consistent, I used the pearl-shaped cookie cutter out of my set – Created blocks of pearl shaped date dough, and then scooped out top-center parts of each pearl block to mold them into diya.

Finally, once the diyas were done, I topped them into the poppy seeds (khus khus) to form the decorative rink around. Finally, the wicks were created from the almond barfis – broke around 2 barfis of plain almond and re-knead them. Breaking them into smaller portions, I rolled each portion into a long thin roll and doubled it to create a traditional 2-end wick. (as my grandmother would direct).

IMG_20161009_020839.jpg

Leave a Reply

